Golden shoes and football cards!

In three days I will fly to Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso’s capital. Most people get ready by thinking about what they should take with them. So, “I am going to England and I take with me my ultra waterproof raincoat, because it always rains in England”. I prefer the opposite way of thinking. So, “I am going to Burkina and I don’t take with me my golden shoes and football cards”.

I have to admit that three years ago I was still thinking the traditional way. I planned a trip from Bamako (Mali) to Ouagadougou (Burkina). And because I like playing football I packed my favorite (street)footballshoes. And because all ‘Africans’ like football too, I brought some real nike balls and and a lot of panini like football cards as well. The football cards appeared to be quite popular and with my golden shoes I was able to keep on track on the local football players. This far, so good.

However, when I came home, printed the pictures and showed them to my friends I atarted to feel a bit more uncomfortable. And somehow it seemde to have something to do with the golden shoes and football cards.

Leave a Reply

